Actors Samuel L. Jackson and Liv Ullmann and screenwriter Elaine May, Oscar of Honor 2022 | Culture

From left, Danny Glover, Samuel L. Jackson, Elaine May and Liv Ullmannm, the Oscars of honor of 2022.
From left, Danny Glover, Samuel L. Jackson, Elaine May and Liv Ullmannm, the Oscars of honor of 2022.AP

The Hollywood Film Academy has announced in a statement that the actors Samuel L. Jackson and Liv Ullmann and the screenwriter Elaine May will be the Oscars of Honor 2022, and that the interpreter Danny Glover will receive the Jean Hersholt award for his humanitarian work. The winners, a quartet that the institution now calls the Governors’ Awards (for the Board of Governors, the council that governs the fate of the academy), will receive their statuettes on January 15. Until 2009 these awards were given within the main ceremony.

More information

In a statement, the president of the academy, David Rubin, said: “Samuel L. Jackson is an international cultural icon.” The 72-year-old Jackson began his career in the 1970s, but it was only in the late 1980s and early 1990s that he achieved fame thanks to three Spike Lee films: Do what you must; The more the merrier! Y Wild fever In those nineties he chained blockbusters like Patriot Game, Point Blank Love, Die Hard: Revenge Y Jurassic Park, in addition to entering the world of Quentin Tarantino with Pulp Fiction —There he became a world myth, thanks to his reading of biblical verse 17 of chapter 25 of the book of Ezequiel and achieved his only Oscar nomination – and Jackie Brown. Thanks to his appearance in the saga Star Wars, to voice the Incredibles and his character as Nick Fury in the Marvel Universe, Jackson is one of the highest grossing actors in history.

The 82-year-old Norwegian Liv Ullman has not only been Ingmar Bergman’s muse (with whom she had a daughter), but has also demonstrated her talent as an actress outside the shadow of the Swedish filmmaker and as a film director. The interpreter, says Rubin, “thanks to her courage and emotional transparency, has given the audience deeply moving portraits on the screen.” Ullman became known with Person (1966), by Bergman. Then they came Hour of the Wolf, Screams and Whispers, Autumn Sonata O Saraband. Throughout her life she has been passionate about theater, and among the films she has directed are Unfaithful Y Miss Julia. Ullmann has twice been an Oscar nominee, for The emigrants, of Troell, and by Face to face naked, by Bergman.

As to Elaine May, 89, Writer, director and occasional actress, the academy thus makes amends to one of the great American comedians, director of one of the greatest failures in the history of cinema, Ishtar, her grave as a filmmaker after titles like Green Heart, The Heartbreaker Y Mickey’s betrayal. During the years he lived with Mike Nichols, they were considered the fastest couple on the planet, for their sagacious and explosive responses. She is the author of the scripts for The sky can wait (his first Oscar nomination), Tootsie, A Cricket Cage O Primary Colors (his second Hollywood statuette nomination).

Danny Glover, 74, a UNICEF goodwill ambassador who made his name in The color purple, after debuting in Escape from Alcatraz, and who starred with Mel Gibson in the saga Lethal weapon, will receive the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, a trophy occasionally awarded by the Academy to recognize an individual “whose humanitarian work has honored the film industry.” “Danny Glover has been a defender of justice and human rights for decades; We bear witness to his commitment to the recognition of that humanity that we share, both on and off the screen, ”says Rubin in the note.